Antique Toys

I saw these antique toys sitting on a friend’s shelf and decided to take some macro shots to see how I would like them.  The challenge was to isolate them so that each was in it’s own “scene” without having to do a lot of cropping and editing after the fact.  I also wanted a shallow depth of field to catch some of the wooden shelf background, but not enough that it would be distracting and draw your eye away from each subject.  The following shots are from a  quick 10 minute “photo shoot” with the toys:

AntiqueToys

AntiqueToys 6

toys antique wooden photo photography jljfoto jonathon jenkins

toys antique wooden photo photography jljfoto jonathon jenkins

toys antique wooden photo photography jljfoto jonathon jenkins

toys antique wooden photo photography jljfoto jonathon jenkins

toys antique wooden photo photography jljfoto jonathon jenkins

Well, that’s it for now.  It was a good quick shoot and I liked the way they turned out.  The lighting was great.  Maybe I’ll try to shoot them in different light or outside sometime.

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

 

7 thoughts on “Antique Toys

    • Thank you! It was fun trying to isolate each of the toys as they were next to each other on the shelf. The lighting was low so I have a few shots that are blurry from my handheld shooting, but it was certainly a a fun 10 minutes out of my day. Thanks again!

    • Thank you Emily, there were a couple of shots of the Bible that turned out ok, but I liked this one the best. If I get a chance, I may try to get more shots of the toys, but it will depend a lot on whether or not the lighting is a as good as it was that afternoon.

  1. Great vision and I think you have achieved your goal of setting them each within their own scene very well! I really like the contrasting colours of the table and chairs against the blue background. Well done 🙂

Leave a Reply

