Portraits! Models! Studios! Kind of different from landscapes!

Even with my schedule being busy, I have still been fortunate enough to find time to get out and shoot.  I haven’t had the time to post, but at least I’ve still been attempting to “see creatively,” learn more about photography and most importantly, just get out and shoot!

Well, I’ve bene able to spend a few time learning how to take better portraits.  I have met some wonderful people through meetups where I have begun to learn  and practice in the studio.  I also attended a great meetup where I learned about shooting with multiple speedlights or external flashes.  The keys, being about learning about light placement, how and where to place lights, Additionally, I’m beginning to learn more about posing and working with models to get the look/pose that I’m after.  It has been an excellent few months.

So, with today’s post I wanted to share some images of the wonderful people that I have been fortunate enough to practice on and I’d like to thank them and several others who have been kind enough to pose for me.

I truly enjoyed the time and hope that we can spend more time together sometime soon…

This first image was shot at a workshop in San Francisco.  It was good to check out a nice studio and also have the chance to shoot there.

Exposure: 1/250 at f/2.8 at ISO 100 – Pentax SMC 50-135mm at 135mm

Model

 

This image was shot at a meetup in Redwood City hosted by Paul Grant Photography.  The meetup was to learn about studio lighting and was fantastic.  I got a chance to learn and meet wonderful people as well as shoot in a great studio.

Exposure: 1/25 at f/3.5 at ISO 100 – Pentax SMC 50-135mm at 135mm

Model portrait black white meetup blog lighting class studio jljfoto photo photography

 

This image was shot in my home studio.  It was a great opportunity for me to do a shoot with my remote flash triggers and speedlights instead of the continuous “hot lights” that I’ve used in the past.

Exposure: 1/60 at f/4.5 at ISO 100 – Pentax FA 50mm f/1.4 at 50mm

Model Yuka portrait studio speedlight black white jljfoto


This image is of Ginger and from a model shoot with Paul Grant in Redwood City.  She is an experienced model and it was an amazing opportunity to be able to shoot her in the studio.

Exposure: 1/160 at f/6.3 at ISO 100 – Pentax SMC 50-135mm at 123mm

Model ginger

 

The final image is of Melissa and also from a meetup model shoot with Paul Grant in Redwood City.  The theme of the workshop was 30’s and 40’s black and white images and I was quite plead with the results of the day.  This is one of my favorites of the shoot.

Exposure: 1/125 at f/5.6 at ISO 100 – Pentax SMC 50-135mm at 70mm

Model Blog portrait black white melissa 30's 40's

Well, I hope this was a small glimpse into what I’ve been up to lately.  I haven’t stopped shooting, just haven’t taken time to write and post.  I hope you enjoy viewing these as much as I enjoyed learning to shoot them.  Please let me know if you have any questions that I can help with or if you want to spend some time practicing with me in my home studio on either side of the shutter.

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

P.S. – I’ve recently completely changed over my photo storage and processing over to the Mac.  This has caused me to do quite a few things differently and this post is with new blog posting software on a brand new computer.  I’m also posting this remotely so please forgive me while I work some of the bugs out of my posts. – JLJ

12 thoughts on “Portraits! Models! Studios! Kind of different from landscapes!

  1. wow Jonathon excellent. Can I take you up on your suggestion to come to a meetup? WIll you let me know at your convenience but your work looks great. I also want to tell you about this other seminar you migt like to attend in November – somehting I am doing. See ya, Barb

    • Thanks Barb! Yes, you can find the meetups by going to meetup.com and looking for meetups in your area and here on the peninsula. We can also spend some time shooting here at my place when you have time. I can show you what I’ve learned so far.

  2. Great light in these studio images, they all look awesome. We have a photo meetup by me with a wonderful bunch of people who also did studio light workshops, I wish I could attend more often. It’s a great way to connect live. The color processing is perfect.

    • Thank you Martina! I understand about being able to take the time, but I’ve been fortunate that I’ve been able to spend some concentrated time on the weekends to practice. I’m still working on it, but am starting to feel a little more comfortable when starting out now.

  3. Great post and even better shots! Good to see that you are learning so much about different styles of photography and I’m jealous of all the meet-ups that you can attend! Keep the good work coming 🙂

  4. Thank you! I’m pretty new to meetups, but they have been great so far. I took a quick look and I don’t see any photography meetups in the Christchurch area. Maybe there are photo groups nearby or you could check one of the local camera stores. It’s too bad we’re so far apart, it looks like we’d have a great time finding subjects to shoot!

    • Haha yea I think a photo meet-up would be a bit more expensive than normal for us! I think there is a local photography society thought so I might hunt them out and see what they’re up to… You’ve inspired me!

  5. Nice work Jonathon. Sounds like you’ve been busy learning and with good results. It’s not easy to take good portraits shots but looks like you have the natural talents for seeing. These are very nice portraits. 🙂

Leave a Reply

