September 11th

This past weekend, in tribute to the fallen in the World Trade Center Terrorist Attack, the City of San Francisco lit up Coit Tower in Red, White and Blue. I wanted to have a chance to see it and grab a few shots since I don’t know if this will be an annual tribute or if it was done in commemoration of the 10th anniversary of that morning. Here are a few of the shots I got from my visit after dark last night.

I couldn’t pass up these reflections on the hoods and windows….

San Francisco World Trade Center Terrorist Attack Coit Tower 911 Tribute Red White Blue Photo Photography USA United States of America New York City Patriot September 11th

 

San Francisco World Trade Center Terrorist Attack Coit Tower 911 Tribute Red White Blue Photo Photography USA United States of America New York City Patriot September 11th

 

And the view from Taylor Street…

San Francisco World Trade Center Terrorist Attack Coit Tower 911 Tribute Red White Blue Photo Photography USA United States of America New York City Patriot September 11th

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

 

9 thoughts on “September 11th

  1. Very nice capture Jonathon. Interesting concept to include the reflection in the first and second shot. I love the overall composition and lighting in the last shot. It gives me a better view of the surrounding area.

  2. Hey Jonathan. I’m the guy that did the lighting for this. I was looking for some pics since I didn’t take any myself. I’ve lit Coit several times for civic purposes. Fallen Fireman, Giants, Wicked, Virgin, and more. The idea of the red, white, and blue came from a friend of mine in the stage hands union. You can read the press release here. http://www.sfmayor.org/index.aspx?page=558. Would it be possible for me to get a couple of hi res pics for my own file?
    Thanks
    -mickey

    • Hey Mickey,

      Of course! The lighting was great! I also really loved the Giant’s Orange too. I’ll forward hi-res copies to you. Would it be possible to have a schedule of upcoming lighting events and themes in return? I’d really love to have the chance to catch more of these on a consistent basis.

      Jonathon

      • There’s not much of a schedule. We get a request from the city sometimes with less than a days notice. There might be something on Dec 1st for AIDS day but that is still be discussed. I’ll try to ping you when I know for certain.
        -mickey

Leave a Reply

