Resonate

The challenge was to produce an image representative of the word resonate. I think in images, and the first image that came to mind was of waves resonating out from a point in a pond, but unfortunately it was a windy day and I was sitting at my dining room table.

I’d done some playing around with water drops, fairly unsuccessfully, in the past and thought I might try it again. This time, I decided to use a glass snifter instead of a wine glass to give me a little more surface area. I also liked the idea of using natural light instead of making my own light.

The following shots were the result of my shooting. I liked the waves as well as the nice background of the sky, trees and vertical blinds.. I also liked the “crispness” of black and white. These are my favorites out of the 22 frames I shot in that session.

Resonate waves water snifter glass
Resonate waves water snifter glass black white

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

6 thoughts on “Resonate

  1. Jonathon, I don’t favor one photo over the other if I had to choose, they both are great in color and b&w. Love the patterns produced and the special effects shown through the glass! Awesome job. The natural light works well here!

  2. I really like the monochrome shot and the excellent visual portrayal of ‘resonate”! I was just thinking the other day that you haven’t posted in a while and I’m not disappointed now I’ve seen what you’ve been up to 🙂

  3. Pingback: September 14: Three glasses | Daily Photo NZ

Leave a Reply

