A Day on the California Coast

About a month and a half ago, I had the chance to get over to the coast and drive down South a bit towards Santa Cruz. It was a great day and there were a few places to stop ad shoot along the way. With getting back to work, and having quite a bit to do, my time for shooting has been limited and at much more of a premium. It’s been pretty much all I can do to get some shooting in during the weekends and maybe process a few, but not getting a chance to write up and post. So, I’m taking some time to write-up a post while we’re having a network outage.

This day on the coast was filled with several types of subjects that I’ve shot in the past including flowers, the Pigeon Point Lighthouse a church and even a couple of out houses. Here are a few from the day. Please check out the rest here or a slideshow of them here.

This is the Pigeon Point Lighthouse. I had a chance to shoot it with a wider lens (Pentax 14mm) and finally get a shot of it I liked. I dropped the clarity to give it a “dreamy” effect and smooth out the rough edges.

Exposure: 1/125 at f/11, ISO 100, Pentax 14mm

I found this out house along a road that I thought was a shortcut to get around a traffic jam. It wasn’t a shortcut at all, but it did take me by this great out house with the Pacific Ocean in the distance.

Exposure: 1/125 at f/11, ISO 100 – Pentax 50-135mm at 135mm

This next shot is from The Mystery Spot. I’d been here once before in the early ’90s and it was interesting to stop by here again. I don’t remember anything of it from my first visit, and it was an interesting optical illusion to see and shoot. This is a silhouette of a boy standing on the wall. BTW, this is not the place for someone who has problems with motion sickness or balance! Here is the information about the attraction.

Exposure: 1/10 at f/2.8, ISO 100 – Pentax 14mm

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

5 thoughts on “A Day on the California Coast

  1. I love the dreamy look of the lighthouse with the flowers adding just the right amount of color. I laugh at that outhouse, we had one in my Grandfather’s summer home that was used. I’ve never heard of this mystery attraction spot. Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

