The Articulated Bus

Yesterday while out and about looking for something to shoot (with my camera), I ran across this bus in a yard over in Oakland, CA. Well, it caught my eye because I’d never seen an articulated bus of this model and never one this old. So, I circled around the block to get another view, all the while shaping up a potential image in my mind of how to capture it. Well, after getting back to it and checking it out though the fence, admiring the threatening “beware of dog” and “no trespassing” signs, along with the run down condition of the bus. I decided to take a few shots and bring them home to check out on the “big screen.”

A few days ago, I was working on my France images and wanted a “grunge” look for one of the images; I found a video by Matt Kloskowski on the internet. I decided to try it on one of the bus images and today’s image is a result. I really like the look, it certainly adds to the character of the bus and the location. I liked it so much that I decided to drive back over today and get more shots. The gate was open today, so I popped inside the yard for a closer look. I’m quite happy with the results, and hope you enjoy them too. You can see the rest of the images here or a slideshow here.

You can download a copy of the Grunge Preset off my Drop Box Public site here for installation in Lightroom.

Exposure: 1/125 sec at f/11, ISO 100, Sigma 18-50mm at 24mm

california oakland bus articulated wall art frunge photo pictures pics jljfoto coach motorcoach

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

2 thoughts on “The Articulated Bus

  1. Great shots! I really enjoy reading about your images and the time and thought that you put into creating them as opposed to just finding something and taking a photo of it. Nice work! 🙂

  2. Thank you very much! I kind of simulated your effect on these, those snow images were very cool and the auto show images were even cooler. Thanks again for giving me an idea of what it’s like on your side of the world, I hope to see it some day.

Leave a Reply

