Friday Night at the Sutro Baths, San Francisco

Recently, I’ve been checking out events at Meetup.com. It’s a site where like-minded people can get together around common interests. I’ve had the chance to participate in a few photography meetups so far, and they’ve been great. A week ago Friday, I participated in my second “shooting” meetup and it was a blast.

The location was the Sutro Baths in San Francisco, the baths have long been gone, but the foundations, or “ruins”, are there. It’s right on the Pacific Ocean, and so a fun place to catch the sun as it drops below the horizon after passing over San Francisco.

This was my first time at the site, so it was nice to experience it with a group of folks who would “know the ropes.” Well, as it turns out, the organizer of the meetup had invited along some fire dancers for us to shoot, so it turned into a completely different shooting event, one that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Here are a few images from the evening. You can see more at my site here or a slideshow here.

On the way down to the site, I saw these beautiful backlit flowers along the stairs, so I decided to stop and take a few shots:

Exposure: 1/640 sec at f/2.8, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA* 50-135mm F2.8 ED [IF] SDM at 135mm

art, baths, cliff, coast, dancers, evening, exposures, fire, house, images, long, meetup.com, night, ocean, pacific, photography, photos, pics, pictures, san francisco, sunset, sutro, wall

After getting down to where the dancers were setting up., I walked over to the rail to check out the sunset, I happened to see a couple of people sitting on the cliff, enjoying the sunset. I liked the view, so I took a few quick shots.

Exposure: 1/100 sec at f/16, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA 14mm F2.8 ED[IF] at 14 mm

art, baths, cliff, coast, dancers, evening, exposures, fire, house, images, long, meetup.com, night, ocean, pacific, photography, photos, pics, pictures, san francisco, sunset, sutro, wall

Now, I know I keep mentioning fire dancers, so I should at least include a shot, right? Well, here’s one of my favorite shots from the evening.

Exposure: 15.0 sec at f/16, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 50mm

art, baths, cliff, coast, dancers, evening, exposures, fire, house, images, long, meetup.com, night, ocean, pacific, photography, photos, pics, pictures, san francisco, sunset, sutro, wall

It was an amazing evening and I’m looking forward to having the chance to shoot the fire dancers again.

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

6 thoughts on “Friday Night at the Sutro Baths, San Francisco

  1. Really great shots! I’m a big fan of fire spinning shots at night so a pretty good opportunity to have a play around with experienced photographers on your meet up… Good to hear you enjoyed it so much and looking forward to photos from the next shoot 🙂

  2. Thank you very much! I’ve had a chance to shoot these fire dancers a couple of times now and each time it’s been a dream. The shoot this night was right on the Pacific Ocean and a great open place to shoot. I’m looking forward to getting together with them again, hopefully before they go off to Burning Man, and getting more great shots. Sorry for the delay in responding, finally had a few minutes to come up for air this evening…

Leave a Reply

