I’m not carting around all that Gear or How I shot July 4th Fireworks without a tripod

This was quite a different Fourth of July for me this year. Usually, we have a family vacation during this time and I’m either travelling or about to get on a plane. Trying to figure out the logistics of how and where to shoot fireworks is usually the last thing on my mind as I try to make sure I’ve packed everything and am getting to where my family is.

Well, this year, our vacation wasn’t around the week of the 4th, so I decided to take a “day for me” and relax, and leisurely get to a nice spot and shoot the fireworks. Well, one thing led to another and I was late getting to the spot that I’d planned (not to mention that there were a lot more people in Foster City than I’d anticipated due to the surrounding cities canceling their fireworks shows). Well, to make a long story short, I ended up in a pretty good spot, away from the big crowds and without my tripod. So I used my trusty beanbag (which I tend to prefer now anyway) and shot the fireworks resting the camera on it and shooting. I’m very happy with the results, and next year will find a better spot to get better reflections.

Here are some of the images I got last night; I hope you enjoy them as much as I enjoyed shooting them. You can see more of them here and a slideshow of them here on my website.

Exposure: 45 sec at f/13, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 50 mm

fireworks foster city california fourth of july 2011 photo wall art pics images

Exposure: 12 sec at f/10, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 50mm

fireworks foster city california fourth of july 2011 photo wall art pics images

Exposure: 19 sec at f/13, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 50mm

fireworks foster city california fourth of july 2011 photo wall art pics images

Happy Belated Fourth of July and Happy Shooting in the coming week!

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

3 thoughts on “I’m not carting around all that Gear or How I shot July 4th Fireworks without a tripod

  1. These are spectacular Jonathon!!! You have a slow shutter speed, the right way to capture this look. I experimented for the first time and with kids and chairs in tow, I didn’t have such set up luxury for my camera or a decent space. It was still fun! I just love your images!

Leave a Reply

