San Francisco Pride Parade – 2011

Another year of Pride celebrations have come and gone in San Francisco. Of all of the celebrations on the schedule, the Pride Parade is the culminating event for the week. I’ve never participated in any of the events during the week, but I try to attend and shoot at the Pride Parade whenever I’m in town. This year’s parade was just as spectacular as those I’ve attended in the past, and the weather was wonderful as you can see in the following image:

Exposure: Aperture Priority, 1/500 at F/5.0, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 45mm

californa, san francisco, jljfoto, wall, art, photo, pictures, gay, pride, 2011, lgbt, parade

 

Once the Parade is over, there’s a huge party and concert held in the park in front of the City Hall. I shot these partiers as I walked through the parade towards the stage.

Exposure: Aperture Priority, 1/125 at f/6.3, ISO 100, Sigma 18-50mm at 33mm

californa, san francisco, jljfoto, wall, art, photo, pictures, gay, pride, 2011, lgbt, parade

 

This was my view as I arrived at the parade. I saw this man carrying the sign in support of the recent decision in New York on same sex marriage. I saw many people wearing “I heart NY” t-shirts during the day.

Exposure: Aperture Priority, 1/30 at f/8, ISO 100, Sigma 18-50mm at 18mm

californa, san francisco, jljfoto, wall, art, photo, pictures, gay, pride, 2011, lgbt, parade

This was one of the few events that I shot in Aperture Priority mode (I’m usually a die-hard fan of Manual mode). My thinking was that it would ease my workload to let the camera do some of the work, especially since I intended to shoot portraits most of the day in shade and direct sunlight.. I found that I got a few shots that I liked, but think that I would’ve liked them better if I had shot in manual and used the meter. In other words, probably manual mode next time.

You can see a few more of my shots from the day here.

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

5 thoughts on “San Francisco Pride Parade – 2011

  1. nice captures!
    I agree – manual just gives you so much more to work with! Can’t see what could be better about giving control over to an electronic device! Whatever works but, I couldn’t agree with you more..
    Barb

Leave a Reply

