My Second Memorial Day…

For over 40 years I’ve seen Memorial Days come and go. Throughout those years, it meant, extra time off from school, or work, or simply a “long weekend.” I’d never given much thought to those Americans who put themselves “in harms way” for me to safely go to school and work, or to take the time to enjoy life and catch a movie or have dinner out one night. Well, all of that changed for me last year, just before Memorial Day. You see, my Dad passed away last year, and even though I knew he’d served in the Navy in World War II, I’d never really talked to him about it or even known what his feelings and experiences were about the war. Opportunities lost…

At his funeral, I took pictures (yes, I do carry my camera with me all of the time) and it was my first experience shooting and crying at the same time, kind of difficult to see through the view finder. I was both surprised and proud that the Navy sent out seaman to honor my Dad by presenting a flag to my Mom. That was just before Memorial Day last year and it made me much more aware of those who fight to keep us safe.

So this year, I again went to Golden Gate National Cemetery and plan to get up to the Presidio of San Francisco again for this year’s parade and festivities. I’ll share some of tomorrow’s pictures in a later post, but wanted to share a few of last year and today with you. I hope that each of you has a great day and that soon we can all live in a world where none of us anywhere in the world will need to be apart from friends and loved ones because of war and conflict. I’m still hopeful…

In this first image, I was struck by the lovely red, white and blue flowers and wanted a shot down low with a bit of contrast in the midst of other grave stones and flags.

Exposure: 1/2000 at f/3.5, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA* 50-135mm IF [ED] F2.8 SDM at 80mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics photos pictures wallpaper golden gate national cemetery wall art flags jljfoto

This next image is from last year’s visit. I wanted a perspective low to the ground to capture the gentle hillside and just enough depth of field to give you a sense of who some of the soldiers are and also an idea of just how many graves are here.

Exposure: 1/1600 at f/2.8, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA* 50-135mm IF [ED] F2.8 SDM at 135mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics pictures photo wallpaper flags golden gate national cemetery wall art jljfoto

In this shot, you get an even larger sense of place and size. I wanted to give you the feeling of the rolling hillside covered with grave stones in the late afternoon sun.

Exposure: 1/60 at f/11, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 50mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics photos pictures wallpaper golden gate national cemetery wall art flags jljfoto

Yes, I do like reflections. This was the only puddle of water I could find today so I decided to get the camera a little wet. This is the best of the few that I shot in the puddle.

Exposure: 1/125 at f/11, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 31mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics photos water puddle reflection pictures wallpaper golden gate national cemetery wall art flags jljfoto

This is a shot from the Presidio of San Francisco last year. I was fortunate enough to catch the cannon just as it fired.

Exposure: 1/2500 at f/2.8, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA* 50-135mm IF [ED] F2.8 SDM at 70mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics photos cannon duty honor country loyalty pictures wallpaper golden gate national cemetery wall art flags jljfoto

This is a day of honoring those who protect us, and for remembering those who have sacrificed everything to protect us.

Exposure: 1/640 at f/2.8, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-DA* 50-135mm IF [ED] F2.8 SDM at 135mm

Memorial Day flowers grave pics photos pictures wallpaper golden gate national cemetery wall art flags jljfoto

And finally, I want to thank and honor my Dad for the time he served in the U.S. Navy and for everything he did in his life to protect and provide for us.

Exposure: 1/320 at f/8, ISO 100 – smc Pentax-FA* 24mm F2 AL[IF] at 24mm

Happy Memorial Day to you!

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

One thought on “My Second Memorial Day…

  1. Very nice tribute. Photographically, I really likethe canon shot a lot ….good for PJ don’t you think? Barb

Leave a Reply

