Shooting Back in the 1950’s with my Digital SLR…

Cruising through the Presidio yesterday (yes, again) on a hunt for interesting shots, I entered a time warp and found myself back in the 50’s. There was a 1957 Chevy Bel Air Sedan parked on a street in front of a fully restored Presidio Dwelling and the scene was just as I imagine it might’ve looked like in the late 50’s and early 60’s. So, of course, I stopped and began to take the shots I wanted to use to tell my story. I “saw” the scene as monochrome in my mind’s eye in each of the 14 frames I shot. Today’s image is the one that liked the best of the 3 I’ve processed so far. The car was in excellent condition and painted in the original colors, India Ivory & Canyon Coral and was a perfect fit with the restored residence in the background.

The image I imagined in my mind’s eye was a sharply detailed Bel Air with the residence slightly out of focus. That meant that I needed to open the aperture as wide as possible, f/2.8 with that lens. Since it was the middle of the day, LOTS of sunlight, I needed to raise my shutter speed (1/1600) to not have a blown out image. As it stands, I probably could’ve even sped it up a bit more. I try to always shoot at ISO 100 because I really don’t like grain in my images. I shot at 18mm to get as much into the image as possible, even with that, I still could’ve used something a little wider, Maybe it’s time to check out the wide angle (non-Fisheye) lens for rental.

Exposure: 1/1600 at f/2.8, ISO 100 – Sigma 18-50mm at 18mm

All-in-all it was a good day of shooting, as always, at the Presidio.

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

5 thoughts on “Shooting Back in the 1950’s with my Digital SLR…

    • Thank you, I saw the car as I was driving by the intersection and wasn’t sure I could get the shot I envisioned, but it worked out well. I printed it as an 8 x 12 yesterday and will take a look to see how it looks as a framed print today.

Leave a Reply

