Chain Link at the Golden Gate

I shot this last Sunday afternoon near Fort Point, at the foot of the Golden Gate Bridge. The sun was still quite high in the clear sky, causing a lot of hard shadows everywhere. I really liked the textured contrast of this chain link fence but I also wanted to capture a bit of “location feel” so I composed the image to include some of the Golden Gate Bridge in the background. I didn’t want the bridge to over-power the fence, so I widened the aperture a bit to keep it out of focus and maintain focus on the chain link. I really like the highly textured link against the smoothness of the blurred Golden Gate.

Exposure: 1/2500 at F/2.8, ISO 100 – Pentax 10-17mm Fish-Eye

Jonathon
Blog: https://jljfoto.wordpress.com
Site: http://jljfoto.com
Fine Art Site: http://fineartamerica.com/profiles/jlj-photography.html

10 thoughts on “Chain Link at the Golden Gate

  1. Very nice composition and dof. Great idea to include the Golden Gate Bridge in the background. It adds a very interesting detail contrast between the soft background and the chain links.

  2. A story telling shot here. Nice use of DOF to bring in interest to the subjects.
    I like the placement of the chain link that seems to go across the lower 1/3 of the frame and the Golden Gate Bridge seems to be almost perpendicular to the link.

    Nice work Jonathon!

    • Thank you Sasi, yes this image seems to have received quite a bit of attention. It turned out the way I’ve envisioned it, and I’m glad that others like it too. I’m thinking that it will be one I’ll actaully print and put on my call for a bit to see how I really feel about it.

Leave a Reply

