Chick-fil-A

Or maybe the subtitle should be “or how I missed my haircut appointment to get a chicken sandwich…

Chick-fil-A, hmmm, it’s a pretty tasty chicken sandwich. I’d never tasted one until a few weeks ago when I was in Tucson, AZ on my way to the Pima Air & Space Museum after catching up with my buddy Stephen. You see, I was in Tucson as a part of my Southwest Road Trip and I’d wanted to at least check out the museum down there. I didn’t make it to the missile museum or the aircraft graveyard, so I’ll have to catch those on the next visit.

So, I rolled through a Chick-fil-A to try it on the way and, well, wow! The chicken was tender and juicy, the bread was soft and buttery and the Sweet Tea, well….very sweet and tasty. I was left with the feeling of, not a bad experience at all, I think I’ll try it again…

My next opportunity to try it again was a few days later as I was leaving Phoenix on my way to Las Vegas. I stopped at a Chick-fil-A and decided to try the chicken biscuit. I was hooked. The biscuit was exceptionally good and went so well with the Chicken and Tea that I was glad that I’d bought a couple. It made the drive out of Phoenix pretty pleasant, and my stomach was pretty happy.

Now, cut to the San Francisco Bay Area, back home a few weeks after those experiences. And the craving for Chick-fil-A hits. Certainly, there must be one in the Bay Area? Right? Hmmm. A quick search on the company web site and Yelp revealed that there is only one, yes, just one, and it’s in Fairfield, CA. Are you kidding me?!?!? {SIGH}

So Wednesday morning I wake up thinking about all of the errands I have to do, including a haircut appointment at 11:30 am, and craving a chicken biscuit. Not just any biscuit, but a Chick-fil-A biscuit… Do I have time? Yes, I think so, if I leave now (9 AM) get there, order and drive back, I should be able to make it… Riiiight….

Had I trusted my reliable friend, Google Maps, I would’ve seen that the drive without traffic was 1 hour and 25 min, but my burning need for chicken and sweet tea convinced me that I could make it.

It turned out to be a great day for a drive as I crossed the San Mateo Bridge.

And at least I was making the drive outside of the morning rush hour…not too much traffic… Here’s a shot of me racing Bart in the Castro Valley area…

At 10 AM, I was just getting to the Fairfield area, not even near the Mall where I would have to search out the location of the restaurant once inside. If I turn around now, I can probably make it back just in time to get into the chair…

So I pull into the Westfield Mall, and begin to scope out the location of the restaurant.

Then, I of course have to take more pictures and talk to the people behind the counter. Now it’s 11 and time to start heading home. It’s also time to call and reschedule my haircut…



All in all, it was a good drive, certainly worth the trip for the sandwich and tea (and the gallon of tea I brought home). I don’t expect that I’ll be traveling to Fairfield for Chick-fil-A very much, but it made for a fun morning and a reason to take pictures and blog. Here are some of the pictures of the food and drink.

Well, that’s it for this post. Check out Chick-fil-A if you’re in the area or if you happen to live near one. It’s a tasty treat to have once in a while.

Jonathon

One thought on “Chick-fil-A

Leave a Reply

