Solvang, CA

One of the stops on Day 1 of my road trip was Solvang, CA. I’d hoped to limit each leg of my trip to no more than 3 hours at a time to make sure that I was rested and had enough time to take pictures along the way. Well, the first day, I got a late start and ended up arriving at Solvang at night, missing the opportunity to spend more time around South County Airport, San Juan Bautista, and San Luis Obispo.

Even with the late start, I still took the time to take shots as I wanted (within reason) and managed to get to Solvang by dark. After checking into the hotel and having dinner, I decided to explore with the camera a little bit as I walked back to the hotel. Today’s post is one of those shots.

Quite a few things drew me into this shot, but first and foremost was looking down the long arched walkway and the clarity of the signs of each shop as your eye travels down the walkway. The other things are the lights on the building’s eaves, the nice lighting on the building and the name, Rasmussen’s, which focuses your eye and then point you down the walkway.

All in all, it was a good night for shooting, a little chilly, but that was good as it kept most people inside and left the lights and the buildings to me for shooting.

You can check out the rest of the images from Solvang in a slideshow here or go to the gallery here.

You can also click on the image below for a higher resolution view.

Jonathon

One thought on “Solvang, CA

Leave a Reply

