Through the Rearview Mirror

As some of you know, I recently returned from a road trip through Southern California and into Arizona and Nevada. It was a great opportunity for me to spend some time driving, thinking and seeing some of the beautiful country here on the “Left Coast.” Along the way, I got to experience the following places:

  • San Juan Bautista, CA
  • Solvang, CA
  • Santa Barbara, CA
  • Pismo Beach, CA
  • Pasadena, CA
  • Palm Desert, CA
  • Joshua Tree National Park
  • Phoenix, AZ and Chandler, AZ
  • Tucson, AZ and Pima Air & Space Museum
  • Flagstaff, AZ
  • Grand Canyon National Park
  • Sedona, AZ
  • Meteor Crater
  • The Painted Desert and Petrified Forest National Park
  • Travel a little of Route 66
  • Topaz Lake, CA
  • Laughlin, NV
  • Hoover Dam
  • Las Vegas, NV
  • Death Valley National Park
  • Mammoth Lakes, CA
  • South Lake Tahoe, CA

Wow! Just typing it out is pretty incredible! I saw a lot, met some truly dear friends that I haven’t seen in quite a while and really had a chance to experience some of the Southwest.

During my travels, I would occasionally look in the rearview mirror and see an awesome view, so I started shooting some of those views. Today’s post is to share some of those views that I saw along the way with you. In subsequent posts, I will share my impressions of several of the locations as well as some of the places where I stayed. I hope that you’ll get as much enjoyment from them as I did during my trip.

The following maps show my route through California, Arizona, Nevada, and back to California. Somewhere in the neighborhood of 3150 miles traveled.

And now for the pics…

Leaving Solvang. I had a great stay in Solvang, and this was the view as I left Solvang, CA

Palm Desert, on the way to Joshua Tree. I saw this wind farm as I was traveling to Joshua Tree.

Joshua Tree National Park. These images are from within the National Park.

Leaving Sedona, AZ. This image shows the red rock and snow in and around Sedona, AZ.

On the way to the Painted Desert. These are a snow covered mountains as I was leaving the Meteor Crater on the way to the Painted Desert.

Route 66. This was a section of Route 66 that goes through the Painted Desert National Park.

On the way to Laughlin. This is a shot of the huge valley I crossed on the way to Laughlin, NV.

Leaving Laughlin. This was the view as I was coming back up into the mountains from Laughlin, NV on my way to Hoover Dam.

Death Valley National Park. The next couple of shots are of my travels through Death Valley.

Mammoth Lakes. This is the view I was presented with as I arrived at Mammoth Lakes, CA

On the way to Tahoe. Saw this in the rearview mirror as I approached the NV, CA border on my way to South Lake Tahoe, CA

And finally, I shot this reflection as I had crossed the NV, CA state line in South Lake Tahoe, CA

My main goal in sharing these images with you was to give you some idea of the varied terrain and fantastic places that I was able to visit. I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did.

Jonathon

4 thoughts on “Through the Rearview Mirror

  1. Thank you! I kept seeing lovely views in the mirror and then decided to start capturing them. I’ve been following your posts and haven’t had time to get to them and comment, but they are lovely shots. I’ll have to get some tips from you on HDR, looks like you’re having lots of fun with them!

    • Thank you Janice! It was fun to do, and the idea came to me when I looked in the mirror at Solvang and saw the city behind me. I few others that I’d like to get one day are the Las Vegas Strip at night, The Grand Canyon, and Hoover Dam. All in good time…Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

