DailyShoot ds78

This is my contribution to dailyshoot assignment number 78. 

“Time for another color theme: Orange! Keep your eyes peeled for anything orange today and make an interesting photo.” 

I had three different ideas in mind for the assignment.  The first was of an orange Scion that passed by me as I was going to lunch.  I found it in the parking lot of the post office, and the shot I wanted was a panning shot with the Scion sharp and the background streaked and blurred.  I didn’t have time to wait for the car to leave as I had to get lunch and back to a 1 PM conference call. 

The second idea was for a shot of the orange Trolley Car that runs on Market Street.  Since I worked at home today, that wasn’t a possibility. 

The third was of a sign and balloon announcing rentals.  I wanted a ground up soft focus shot of the sign with the balloon sharp.  I didn’t want to shoot into the sky (overcast) with a wide open aperture, plus I don’t have enough filters for my fixed 50mm to block out that much light. 

Here’s the shot I settled on, a posed still-life shot of several orange items that I have around the house.  I shot this on several bases and backgrounds, but settled on black as my favorite. 

Dailyshoot DS78

Leave a Reply

